Monday, November 23, 2009

lessrest.

my back, just under my right shoulder, hurts like a bitch. it has hurt for the majority of sunday, and is now going into monday.

i have no idea why.
why?

so i really want music back in my life. but i have no idea how to get started.
i still want to write. i still want to draw.

and the stupid thing is, i have nothing but time right now. and i don't know how to use it.


so i was reading comments on the AMA performances. and by performances, i mean mainly two performances. the ones that stood out. the ones that most right-wing, close-minded, family oriented people absolutely HATE because they feel that these two (gaga and adam) are less talented. therefore, their use of outrageous stage theatrics--"shock value" i've read many times--are keeping people entertained rather than talented musicians itself.

yes, they have a point to an extent. but that does not make them any less talented. honest, i didn't really pay attention to adam's performance (never paid attention to him at all). sure, it was provocative. we obviously already knew he was gay. but still, america can't handle that being shoved in their face. or rather him shoving his crotch into dancers faces and sticking his tongue down someone's throat. okay, so what? i think ive seen worse on local tv during prime times. threesomes and high school kids. but, THATS okay. *shakes head*

yes, i understand that people have kids. but they have bedtimes. they shouldnt have been up anyway. and if they saw it, you could've easily changed the channel.

as for gaga's performance. and gaga in general.

there is no in between. you either love or hate her. i love her. and i like to read the comments of those who disagree. "she's outrageous". i agree, and so does she. "she uses theatrics to get ahead". i agree, and its genius. "she can't perform live" are you kidding me? don't you hear her SING? don't you see her actually playing that piano?? yeah so what its burning, and she's breaking bottles on it.. hey, she's fucking original. yeah, so it's more than just music thats she's creating. she's creating a world that she's sharing to her fans. she has a mystique that makes everybody want to know what she's going to do next. she is art. she is fashionable music.

i think the people that hate her are just afraid of her power because she's working this music business right. they feel she's faking it. well, its a persona, yes, but.. isn't that obvious? its entertainment, its savvy, its chic. she's giving you a movie, a rollercoaster ride, just fucking sit down and let her take you through it all.

music is tired of bubble gum over compressed pop anyway.

she's created her own genre, therefore, she's doing everything right. she doesn't need to stick to standards--and she shouldn't.

gaga is bringing it down.

oh well, if you hate her, you'll still probably have to deal with her being around due to her loyal fanbase.

but the girl really does have chops. don't let the bloody fashion detract too much attention from what's coming out of her mouth.

No comments: